For immediate release - January 31, 2006

Sumter County Commissioner James Roberts installed as Lake-Sumter MPO vice chairman

TAVARES — Sumter County Commissioner Jim Roberts was installed last week as vice chairman of the Lake-Sumter Metropolitan Planning Organization (MPO) Board.

Jim Roberts ROBERTS

He has served on the MPO Board since its inception in 2004. The MPO Board has informally established a system of rotating leadership between municipal and county elected officials. The first chairman, Debbie Stivender, is a Lake County Commissioner, while new Chairman James Yatsuk serves as Mayor of Mount Dora.

Roberts enters a MPO leadership role as vice chairman, with the anticipation of assuming the chair in 2007. The next vice chair will likely be filled with a municipal elected official.

“One of the strengths of the Lake-Sumter MPO is that it is a two-county MPO,” Roberts said. “In state and regional affairs, the Lake-Sumter MPO is viewed as a true regional organization.”

The Lake-Sumter MPO Board consists of 20 board members (14 voting and six non-voting) representing the communities of the Lake-Sumter region. Each member government appoints an elected official to the MPO Board, along with an alternate representative.

The apportionment of membership on the Lake-Sumter MPO Board includes one voting representative from each of the seven most populated cities in Lake County, including Clermont, Eustis, Lady Lake, Leesburg, Minneola, Mount Dora and Tavares. In addition, the five members of the Lake County Board of County Commissioners and the one designated county commissioner from the Sumter County Board of County Commissioners are each voting members. The seven least populated cities of Lake County share one at-large vote that rotates alphabetically each year.


Media contact:
Communications Department
Public Information Coordinator
Office: 352-343-9603; Cell: 352-455-0445