For immediate release - November 3, 2006

Sumter County Commissioner James Roberts to be 2007 Lake-Sumter MPO Chair

TAVARES — Sumter County Commissioner Jim Roberts was recently elected by the Lake-Sumter Metropolitan Planning Organization (MPO) Board to serve as chairman of the organization in 2007.

The election of Roberts followed a change in the MPO Board bylaws that established a new executive committee for the board and created positions including chairman-elect, first vice-chairman and second vice-chairman. Roberts was elected unanimously as 2006 chairman-elect by the MPO Board, which is comprised of elected officials from the local governments of Lake and Sumter counties.

“Jim Roberts provides excellent leadership for the MPO board,” said current MPO Chair and Mount Dora Mayor James Yatsuk. “Roberts’ election to be the 2007 chair demonstrates the strong partnership that has grown between the two counties.”

Elected as first vice-chair was Minneola Mayor David Yeager, and Lake County Commissioner Welton Cadwell was elected as second vice-chair. Chair-elect Jim Roberts would take over as Chairman at the January meeting of the MPO Board.

The Lake-Sumter MPO Board consists of 20 board members (14 voting and six non-voting) representing the communities of the Lake-Sumter region. Each member government appoints an elected official to the MPO Board, along with an alternate representative.

The apportionment of membership on the Lake-Sumter MPO Board includes one voting representative from each of the seven most populated cities in Lake County, including Clermont, Eustis, Lady Lake, Leesburg, Minneola, Mount Dora and Tavares. In addition, the five members of the Lake County Board of County Commissioners and the one designated county commissioner from the Sumter County Board of County Commissioners are each voting members. The seven least populated cities of Lake County share one at-large vote that rotates alphabetically each year.


Media contact:
Communications Department
Public Information Coordinator
Office: 352-343-9603; Cell: 352-455-0445