For immediate release - October 3, 2012

Lake~Sumter Metropolitan Planning Organization Honors Founding Board Member

LEESBURG — The Lake-Sumter Metropolitan Planning Organization (MPO) Governing Board honored Lake County Commissioner Jennifer Hill at their regular meeting yesterday. Commissioner Hill has been a member of the board since its inception in 2004. She served as Chairman of the board during 2011 and as the MPO representative on the Florida Metropolitan Planning Organization Advisory Council and on the Central Florida MPO Alliance since 2006.

She has served on the MPO Executive Committee and on the North Lake~Sumter and LakeXpress Task Forces. At the Annual Awards Dinner held in January 2012 Commissioner Hill was selected from the various committees, agencies, community and service groups and boards of our region as the individual who has demonstrated the greatest commitment of time and energy to the goals and plans of the MPO. Lake County Commissioner Jennifer Hill; and MPO Chairman, Sumter County Commissioner Don Burgess

The Lake-Sumter MPO Governing Board consists of 29 board members (16 voting and 13 non-voting) representing the communities of the Lake-Sumter region. Each member government appoints elected representation to the MPO Governing Board, along with an alternate representative.

The MPO Governing Board typically meets on the fourth Wednesday of every month and all meetings are open to the public. Regular meeting dates and times may be changed by action of the MPO to accommodate holidays and/or other reasons. Therefore, please consult the link to verify meeting dates and times.



Media contact:
Communications Department
Public Information Officer
Office: 352-343-9603; Cell: 352-455-0445