For immediate release - June 7, 2007

Officials to cut ribbon for Lake County's new public bus line

TAVARES — The Lake County Board of County Commissioners, and its partners through the Lake-Sumter Metropolitan Planning Organization (MPO), will cut the ribbon to the County's newest public-transportation endeavor, the LakeXpress bus line, on Monday, June 11, at 9 a.m. in front of the Lake County Administration Building, located at 315 W. Main St., Tavares.

Officials scheduled to speak before cutting the ceremonial grand-opening ribbon include County Commissioner Jennifer Hill, Minneola Mayor and Chairman of the Lake-Sumter MPO David Yeager and Noranne Downs, Secretary of the Fifth District for the Florida Department of Transportation. In addition, the ceremony will include presentations to two citizens that helped name the new bus service.

LakeXpress runs every hour from The Villages to Eustis with a circulator route in downtown Leesburg. The fixed-route service is designed to make daily commutes along U.S. Highway 441 hassle free. In years to come, the service will be expanded to other urban areas of the County, such as a downtown Mount Dora circulator route, scheduled to begin before the end of 2007.

LakeXpress operates Monday through Friday, 6 a.m. to 7:45 p.m. Buses do not run on Saturdays, Sundays and the following federal holidays: New Year’s Day, Martin Luther King Day, Memorial Day, Independence Day, Labor Day, Thanksgiving Day and Christmas Day.
All fares for LakeXpress are free until Aug. 17. After this introductory period, all trips will be $1 and half-fares will be available for: seniors 60 years or older (must present a valid Medicare card upon boarding); students with a valid school ID; and individuals with disabilities (buses are equipped with lifts). Free fares are available for children under five years of age, which are accompanied by a fare-paying chaperone.

For more information about LakeXpress, call (352) 326-8637 or log on to


Media contact:
Communications Department
Public Information Coordinator
Office: 352-343-9603; Cell: 352-455-0445