For immediate release - January 29, 2007

Lake-Sumter MPO Board creates 4 new taskforces to deal with regional transportation issues

TAVARES — The Lake-Sumter Metropolitan Planning Organization (MPO) Board last week approved the formation of four taskforces to target specific corridors that need additional attention.

The taskforces are multi-jurisdictional subcommittees comprised of elected officials that will report their findings to the entire Lake-Sumter MPO Board after analyzing local and state transportation projects.

“The way these committees are structured is as an advisory capacity to the MPO Board,” said T.J. Fish, Executive Director of the Lake-Sumter MPO. “The committees will be focused on top priorities to move the projects forward to the next phase, whether that is construction, right-of-way acquisition, design or planning.

“Each taskforce is at a different stage,” Fish added. “For example the State Road 50 taskforce, their biggest issue is only the eastern portion of State Road 50 in Clermont is funded for construction, so that’s something they need to focus on, how to get the Hancock Road to U.S. Highway 27 portion funded.”

The four taskforces and its members are:

South Lake Network Taskforce: Advancing funding of State Road 50 six-lane widening project; researching a potential reliever corridor to alleviate State Road 50; and interconnectivity with county road network.
• Lake County Commissioner Elaine Renick
• Clermont Commissioner Ray Goodgame
• Minneola Mayor David Yeager
• Montverde Councilmember Joe Wynkoop

Leesburg-Fruitland Park-Lady Lake Taskforce: Advancing funding of six-lane widening project of U.S. Highway 441-27 corridor; researching a potential reliever corridor west of U.S. Highway 441-27; and guiding future trail study in the corridor.
• Lake County Commission Chairman Welton Cadwell
• Lake County Commissioner Jennifer Hill
• Sumter County Commission Chairman Michael Francis
• Fruitland Park Commissioner Sharon Kelly
• Lady Lake Commissioner Ty Miller
• Leesburg Mayor Sanna Henderson

Wekiva Parkway-County Road 44 Taskforce: Researching a northern corridor as a cross-county alternative to U.S. Highway 441; analyzing the effects of connecting a northern corridor to the proposed Wekiva Parkway (Orlando Beltway) and six-lane State Road 46 projects.
• Lake County Commission Chairman Welton Cadwell
• Lake County Commissioner Linda Stewart
• Mount Dora Mayor James Yatsuk
• Eustis Mayor James Rotella
• Umatilla Commissioner Charles Goodson

U.S. Highway 301 Taskforce: Identifying road network improvements between U.S. Highway 301 and Interstate 75.
• Sumter County Commission Chairman Michael Francis
• Wildwood Mayor Ed Wolf


Media contact:
Communications Department
Public Information Coordinator
Office: 352-343-9603; Cell: 352-455-0445